References and projects

Research Group on Digitalization and Social Transformation

Since 2016 Tilman is heading a five-year Junior Research Group at the Technical University of Berlin and the Institute for Ecological Economy Research. The group investigates digitalization as a mega-trend in light of current sustainability and degrowth debates. It consists of eight researchers from six different disciplines, who analyse rebound risks of digital devices but also investigate the potential of digitalization for sufficiency and sustainable consumption. For more information see the project’s website here.

Greenpeace

Since 2016 Tilman is member of the Board of Greenpeace Germany. Greenpeace is an independent campaigning organisation, which uses non-violent, creative confrontation to expose global environmental problems, and to force the solutions which are essential to a green and peaceful future.

University of California, Berkeley

During the academic year 2013/2014, Tilman researched at the University of California at Berkeley. As Visiting Scholar, he worked in the Energy Resources Group, in close cooperation with the Institute of European Studies. Tilman used the interdisciplinary research environment of Berkeley University and other think tanks and reserach institutions in the San Francisco Bay Area to improve research on how to foster the energy transition, in particular at the nexus of energy, productivity, and economic growth.

Germanwatch

The environmental and developmental NGO Germanwatch, for which Tilman Santarius served as honorary board member between 2007 and 2016, is committed to North-South equity and the preservation of the biosphere. Germanwatch’s motto is: observing, analyzing, acting! The situation of marginalized people in the South is the starting point of the organization’s work, which focusses on politics and economics in the North, particularly in Germany and the EU.

Fair Future – What kind of globalization is sustainable?

Guided by the question “What kind of globalization is sustainable?” the Wuppertal Institute conducted a project which explored the relationship between the rising transnational economy and goals of public policy, such as sustainability and equity. The interdisciplinary research, which involved all departments from the Wuppertal Institute with a maximum of 25 reseraches, was coordinated and lead by Wolfgang Sachs and Tilman Santarius. Publications include a series of papers and articles, culminating in the book Fair Future. Limited Resources and Global Justice, which was published in english (Indian edition), GermanSpanishItalian and Japanese (see here for a preface for the Japanese edition).

EcoFair Trade Dialogue – New directions for agricultural trade rules

In a two-years discussion and consultancy process – the “EcoFair Trade Dialogue“ – which involved researchers, civil society, policy-makers and other stakeholders form all continents, new perspectives and policy proposals have been developed that intend to align trade in agriculture with the pursuits of ecology and justice, namely for small farmers. Together with ten internationally renowned experts, in 2007 Wolfgang Sachs and Tilman Santarius have compiled the results of EcoFair Trade Dialogue into the report “Slow Trade – Sound Farming. A Multilateral Framework for Sustainable Markets in Agriculture“, which presents an alternative to agricultural trade policies of the World Trade Organization. The report has also translated into German, French, Spanish, Arab, Czech, PolishPortuguese, Indonesian, and Italian.

McPlanet.com – The environment in the trap of globalization

Mc.Planet.com is a series of congresses as a collaboration of Attac, Friends of the Earth, Greenpeace, Heinrich Boell Foundation, Wuppertal Institute and EED. The international congresses deal with issues at the interface of environmental, developmental movements and the movement for an alternative globalization. Tilman Santarius was one of the initiators of the conference series that began in 2003 and every two years attracts over 1,000 participants.

Working Group Trade - NGO Forum on Environment & Development

The “Working Group Trade” of the “German NGO Forum for Environment & Development” accompanied international trade policy for over two decades. For quite some time, a special focus was on the politics of the WTO, later on bilateral and plurilateral trade and investment agreements, in particular with the European Union. Tilman Santarius is a member of the “Working Group Trade” since 2002. In 2009 he wrote for the study “Climate and Trade. Why climate change calls for fundamental reforms in World Trade policy“.

Joint Emission Trading as a Socio-Ecological Transformation

The project JETSET – Joint Emission Trading as a Socio-Ecological Transformation (2002-2005) was designed as a trans-disciplinary research and learning research network. The project was supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Reserach. It examined the introduction of emissions trading in the EU and the Federal Republic of Germany with various methodes of interdisciplinary sustainability research. Tilman Santarius was head of this porject’s reserach unit at the Wuppertal Institute. Among others, he published the paper “Emissions Trading and Institutional Changes in Environmental Policy Making“.

Policies for Ecological Tax Reform: Assessment of Social Response

The project “PETRAS – Policies for Ecological Tax Reform: Assessment of Social Response” (2001-2003) was conducted by the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy in association with research institutions in the UK, Ireland, France and Denmark. Funded by the European Commission, this project examines the reactions of social actors on discussed or implemented designs of ecological taxes in several EU countries. It aimed in particular to analyze the acceptance of the reform in the population and also by industry. Among others, a publication by Tilman Santarius and Christiane Beuermann gives hints how to improve the design of the German ETR in order to increase its social acceptance.

Referenzen und Projekte

Forschungsgruppe Digitalisierung und Transformation

Seit 2016 leitet Tilman Santarius die fünfjährige interdisziplinäre Nachwuchs-Forschungsgruppe “Digitalisierung und sozial-ökologische Transformation” an der Technischen Universität Berlin und dem Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW). Die Gruppe wird den Megatrend Digitalisierung vor dem Hintergrund aktueller wachstumskritischer Debatten untersuchen. Die sechsköpfige Forschungsgruppe analysiert Rebound-Risiken digitaler Dienstleistungen, lotet aber auch Chancen der Digitalisierung für suffiziente Lebensstile aus und erarbeitet Handlungsvorschläge, wie sie zu einer sozial-ökologischen Gesellschaftstransformation beitragen kann. Zur Projekthomepage geht es hier.

Greenpeace e.V.

Seit 2016 ist Tilman Santarius ehrenamtliches Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat von Greenpeace Deutschland e.V. Als internationale Umweltorganisation setzt sich Greenpeace seit 1971 mit direkten gewaltfreien Aktionen für den Schutz der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen von Mensch und Natur sowie für Gerechtigkeit aller Lebewesen ein.

Christiane Busch-Lüty Förderpreis

Für seine Doktorarbeit “Der Rebound-Effekt. Ökonomische, psychische und soziale Herausforderungen für die Entkopplung von Wirtschaftswachstum und Energieverbrauch” hat Tilman Santarius den Christiane Busch-Lüty Förderpreis der Vereinigung für Ökologische Ökonomie (VÖÖ) verliehen bekommen. Informationen und Fotos zur Preisverleihung sowie die Laudatio von Prof. Gerhard Oesten finden sich hier. Die Arbeit von Tilman Santarius ist gedruckt und als E-Book beim Metropolis-Verlag erschienen und kann hier bestellt werden.

University of California, Berkeley

2013/2014 forschte Tilman Santarius für ein Jahr als Gastwissenschaftler an der Universität von Kalifornien in Berkeley. Als Visiting Scholar arbeitet er dort in der Energy Resources Group, in Kooperation mit dem Institute of European Studies. Tilman nutzte die interdisziplinäre Arbeitsumgebung der Uni Berkeley und weiterer Think Tanks und Forschungs-Institute im Großraum San Franciscos, um seine Forschung insbesondere zum Themenkomplex Energie, Produktivität, Wirtschaftswachstum zu vertiefen.

Germanwatch e.V.

Die umwelt- und entwicklungspolitische NGO Germanwatch e.V., bei der Tilman Santarius von 2007-2016 ehrenamtliches Vorstandsmitglied war, engagiert sich für Nord-Süd-Gerechtigkeit und den Erhalt der Lebensgrundlagen. Germanwatchs Motto ist: Hinsehen, analysieren, einmischen. Die Lage der besonders benachteiligten Menschen im Süden bildet den Ausgangspunkt von Germanwatch, die Arbeit wird auf die Politik und Wirtschaft des Nordens konzentriert mit ihren weltweiten Auswirkungen.

Klima-der-Gerechtigkeit.de

Der Web-Blog “Klima-der-Gerechtigkeit.de” spießt aktuelle Entwicklungen rund ums Klima auf und kommentiert, beleuchtet, hinterfragt, was das mit Gerechtigkeit zu tun hat. Hier finden sich pointierte Meinungen, lustige Fotos, kurze Video-Clips und jede Menge weiterführende Links rund um die Themen Klima und Gerechtigkeit. Hier zu den Artikeln von Tilman Santarius auf dem Blog, für den Tilman in den Jahren 2009-2011 regelmäßig geschrieben hat.

Fair Future – Welche Globalisierung ist zukunftsfähig?

Unter dem Titel “Welche Globalisierung ist zukunftsfähig?” führte das Wuppertal Institut von 2002 bis 2005 ein Leitprojekt zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Globalisierung durch. Das Projekt hat Beiträge zur wissenschaftlichen und öffentlichen Debatte über Gründe, Verlaufsformen, Folgen und zukunftsfähige Gestaltungsoptionen der wirtschaftlichen Globalisierung vorgelegt. Das interdisziplinär angelegte Projekt involvierte ca. 25 WissenschaftlerInnen und wurde von Wolfgang Sachs und Tilman Santarius koordiniert. Die Publikationen des Projekts umfassen eine Serie von über einem Dutzend Wuppertal Papers, die über die Jahre 2003 bis 2005 erschienen sind. Im Frühjahr 2005 ist das Buch “Fair Future. Begrenzte Ressourcen und globale Gerechtigkeit” im Verlag C. H. Beck erschienen, in den Jahren 2007 bis 2009 sind Übersetzungen auf englisch, spanischitalienisch und japanisch erschienen. (Hier das Vorwort der japanischen Ausgabe von Fair Future.)

EcoFair Trade Dialog – Handelsregeln für eine global zukunftsfähige Landwirtschaft

In einem zwei Jahre andauernden Diskussions- und Beratungsprozess – dem „EcoFair Trade Dialogue“ – der auf allen Kontinenten der Welt stattfand, wurden Konzepte eines zukunftsfähigen internationalen Handelssystems von Vertretern und Vertreterinnen von Bauernorganisationen, NROs, Ministerien, Parlamenten, internationalen Organisationen und der Wissenschaft diskutiert. Zusammen mit zehn international renommierten ExpertInnen haben Wolfgang Sachs und Tilman Santarius aus den Ergebnissen des EcoFair Trade Dialogs im Jahr 2007 den Report “Slow Trade – Sound Farming. Handelsregeln für eine global zukunftsfähige Landwirtschaft” entwickelt, der eine Alternative zur Agrarhandelspolitik der Welthandelsorganisation WTO vorstellt. Hier zur englischen Originalausgabe des Reports “Slow Trade – Sound Farming“, der auch auf deutsch, französisch, spanisch, arabisch, tschechisch, polnisch, portugiesisch, indonesisch und italienisch erschienen ist.

McPlanet.com – Die Umwelt in der Globalisierungsfalle

Die Kongress-Reihe Mc.Planet.com ist eine Kooperation von Attac, BUND, Greenpeace, Heinrich Böll Stiftung, Wuppertal Institut und EED. Die Kongresse behandeln internationale und nationale Themen an der Schnittstelle von Umwelt-, globalisierungskritischer und entwicklungspolitischer Bewegungen. Tilman Santarius war einer der Initiatoren der Kongress-Reihe, die 2003 begann und bis heute alle zwei Jahre über 1.000 TeilnehmerInnen anzieht.

AG Handel – Forum Umwelt & Entwicklung

Die AG Handel des Forum Umwelt & Entwicklung begleitet seit über zwei Jahrzehnten die internationale Handelspolitik. Ein besonderer Fokus lag längere Zeit auf der Politik der WTO, später dann auf bi- und plurilateralen Handels- und Investitionsabkommen, insbesondere der Europäischen Union. Tilman Santarius gehört der AG Handel seit 2002 an; 2009 schrieb er für das Forum Umwelt & Entwicklung die Studie “Klima und Handel. Warum der Klimawandel zu einer Reform der Welthandelspolitik zwingt”.

Der Emissionshandel als sozial-ökologischer Transformationsprozess

Das Projekt JETSET – Die Einführung von Emissionshandelssystemen als sozial-ökologischer Transformationsprozess (2002-2005) war ein als transdisziplinärer Forschungs- und Lernprozess gestaltete Forschungsverbund. Er wurde vom BMBF gefördert und untersuchte die Einführung des Emissionshandels in der EU und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Methonden der interdisziplinären Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Tilman Santarius war Projektleiter des Teilprojekts am Wuppertal Institut. Unter anderem hat er aus dem Projekt den Artikel “Erfolgsstory Emissionshandel? Prüfstein für Souveränität, Demokratie und Verflechtung” veröffentlicht.

Reaktionen gesellschaftlicher Akteure auf die Ökologische Steuerreform

Das Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie hat im Verbund mit Forschungseinrichtungen in Großbritannien, Irland, Frankreich und Dänemark das von der EU Kommission geförderte Projekt “PETRAS – Policies for Ecological Tax Reform: Assessment of Social Response“ (2001-2003) durchgeführt. Das Projekt untersucht die Reaktionen gesellschaftlicher Akteure auf die in den jeweiligen Ländern diskutierten bzw. umgesetzten konkreten ÖSR-Konzepte. Es zielte insbesondere darauf ab, die Akzeptanz der Reform in der Bevölkerung und auch seitens der Industrie zu analysieren. Die Veröffentlichungen des Projekts von Tilman Santarius und Christiane Beuermann geben Hinweise zur Verbesserung des Designs der deutschen ÖSR im Hinblick auf eine Steigerung ihrer sozialen Akzeptanz.